FInal Blog

One thing I really loved in this course was having the speakers come either into the classroom or over Skype, and speak to us about their jobs. I think that is so important because it assigns value to the things we are learning when we can see how it applies to real world job situations. The speakers were all wonderful and so open to answering questions and furthering our understanding of their job. I also really loved the movies (of course) because, even thought they were exaggerated depictions of the PR profession they did get the point across about ethical situations and dilemmas we may truly face one day. I was very glad we got the experience to write a couple press releases because I have heard so much emphasis being placed on that skill even from journalists. Press releases are one thing that I have been worried I won’t be good at so the more experience I get the more confident I will be. I also really loved our class discussions and getting to know everyone’s personalities. Building relationships with people is so important to me and after this class I feel like I could call almost anyone in this class in the future if I ever had a question or wanted to connect at a conference or something. Our class is full of wonderful, talented people and I actually am pretty sad to not be coming back to class but one more time. I know that some of the friendships I have made or grown in this class I will take with me into other classes and into my future job. One thing I regret about this class is missing assignments. I try to be organized so when I miss things it just drives me insane. I know I will take the experience I have gained from this class and build off of it in my upcoming classes. Usually in classes in order to make the material long term memory I have to go back and read it over and over. With the materials in our class I will have to review some of it but other things feel natural and I know they will stick with me forever because I enjoy learning about them.

Leave a comment